





School of Science and Humanities Department of Physics (DST-FIST Sponsored) <u>BOARD OF STUDIES</u> <u>Minutes of Meeting</u>

Date:21/06/2021 (10.00 AM - 1.30 PM)

Venue: Board Room, VC Office

Board of studies meeting of Department of Physics was held on 21st June 2021 between 10 am to 1.30 pm at Board Room of VC's Office.

Dr. S. Ravichandran, convener of BOS, during his introductory talk, he proposed I year B.E. /B. Tech.

(2021) regulations, B.Sc. Physics (2021) regulations and M.Sc. Physics (2021).

Agenda of Meeting:

- Framing the syllabus for theory and lab for B.E/B.Tech.
- Framing the syllabus for theory and lab for B. Sc PHYSICS.
- Framing the syllabus for theory and lab for M. Sc PHYSICS.

S.No	Board of Studies Members			
1.	Dr. T.S. Natarajan, Department of Physics, IIT Madras/ IIT Tirupati.			
2.	Dr. N. Vijayan, Senior Scientist Crystal Growth and X-Ray Analysis Section, CSIR-National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi-110012.			
3.	Dr. D. Siva Prahasam , International Advanced Research Centre for Powder Metallurgy and New Materials (ARCI), Centre for Automated Energy Materials, IITM Research Park, Taramani.			
4.	Dr. S. Ravichandran Professor & Head / Department of Physics Sathyabama Institute of Science & Technology, Chennai.			
5.	Dr. Helen Marina Albert. Professor/ Department of Physics Sathyabama Institute of Science & Technology, Chennai.			
6.	Dr. C. Rameshkumar, Associate Professor/ Department of Physics Sathyabama Institute of Science & Technology, Chennai.			

The external members had gone through the syllabus and their suggestions are listed below:

• IB.E/ B.Tech Theory and IB.E/ B.Tech Lab

- 1. As suggested by the expert members the industry-oriented syllabus has been introduced for the I Year B.E. /B.Tech.
- 2. Physics for Information Sciences (SPHA1202) is introduced to CSE, CSE specialization and IT departments.
- 3. Physics for Robotics and automation (SPHA 1203) is introduced to CSE specialization of robotics.
- 4. Physics for Engineers (SPHA1201) is introduced to Mechanical, Civil, EEE, ECE, Bio, Chemical, Aero and Automobile departments.

• B. Sc (Physics) Theory

1. As per the review and suggestions of the expert members a major revision has been made.

• <u>M. Sc (Physics) Theory</u>

 As per the expert members suggestions, the M.Sc. Syllabus is continued as same as 2019 regulation.

The members had the brain storming discussion and interaction among them. BOS members reviewed and resolved to approve the syllabus offed by the department of Physics.

External members	Signature	Internal members	signature
Dr.N.Vijayan	Nitra	Dr.S.Ravichan dran	5 Barrow
Dr.T.S.N.Natar ajan	- Comb	Dr.HelenMerin a Albert	Shelm .
Dr. D.SivaPrahasa m	X Supphase	Dr.C.Ramesh Kumar	C. Zamer Hume